Apologies.

7 Oct

“Never ruin an apology with an excuse.”

– Kimbery Johnson.

So it has been a very long while. I’d love to say I’ve been really busy, and have loads to say. The truth is I haven’t, and actually that’s probably why I haven’t written anything. The time has most definitely passed for me to write anything about Glastonbury (and I still don’t have the photographs, which are now 200 odd miles away) and as the weather has changed so drastically I feel it would just be cruel for me to write anything about my summer holiday (I went to Turkey, it was hot, what more could you possibly want to know?).

I’m back at University now, in halls again and have thoughtfully been dubbed a “creepy basement dweller” by some of the other students here due to the location of my flat. I don’t think they were specifically talking about me.  At least I hope not. It’s warm and dry, I now have a wardrobe (after almost a month of waiting). My flatmates are all pleasant, and I have a fellow Somerset girl living here who has promised to talk to me in a funny accent if I ever get homesick. Something must have happened to all of us over the summer,we went to the cinema and spent money that could have been spent on alcohol to see a film. Twice. The first time round we went and saw Crazy Stupid Love. I have just looked, and most of the search results on Google are telling me that the title needs two commas in it. To be totally honest, I’m not entirely sure what is or isn’t grammatically correct but it doesn’t look quite right to me, and they aren’t on any of the film posters, so I have made the executive decision to leave them off. Commas or not, this film was pretty good. With such an amazing cast, it would be hard for this to be awful. That said, I don’t really have many comments to make. It was a good film, and it did have a couple of very amusing twists in it, but nothing really stood out for me.

The following week we went to see What’s Your Number? Hilarious. Obviously a total chick flick, but I just find Anna Faris so funny. Ever so slightly predictable, but definitely one of the best romantic comedies to come out in quite a while. Ally (played by Anna) reads an article that states women who have slept with over 20 men find it hard to get married, panics as she’s already on 19, and decides to track down all her ex boyfriends in the hopes that one of them will be the one. Her ridiculously attractive neighbour, Colin (played by Chris Evans – not the ginger bespectacled one) agrees to help her – and I’m sure you can all see where this is going. It isn’t ever going to achieve Bridget Jones status, but with loads of laugh out loud moments its a good one to watch with the girls.

Alcohol and Orange Wednesday aside, most of the rest of my loan has been spent on handbags. I will however be getting the money back, because I was totally disappointed with what arrived. Nica, one of my favourite bag brands had a sale on recently, soley for their new(ish) leather range, Nica London. Oh so many times I have swooned over these bags, but unfortunately have not been able to afford or justify them for a while. Nica are renowned for having pretty printed linings, and unusual detailing. At half price, and as I needed to get a new bag for uni, I felt I couldn’t really afford to turn them down. I was actually gutted when they arrived. None of the bags were lined. Not one of them. At all. Just the rougher underside of the leather on the inside. How can they charge £150 odd for a leather handbag that isn’t even lined? I would be pretty annoyed about this anyway, but from a company that prides itself on its unique lining? Not impressed. So, they are all going back. Which is the second thing – returns. I understand that it costs everybody money to send and receive items in the post, company or not. With many stores offering free return options, even for non faulty items, I feel that as an internet only company (there are the odd one or two in department stores, but nowhere that you can actually see the whole range) it is totally ridiculous that you have to pay to return items. Today I ended up parting with £17, which when I think about it, is almost a fee to have a look at these bags. I got my first Nica bag about 5 years ago, and after this I don’t know how I feel about buying anymore. I know it probably won’t make much difference to them in the grand scheme of things, but I feel totally cheated. Still, rant over and lesson learnt.

This is a pretty long post, and I’m probably boring everyone now – so here’s a snap of where we went on holiday.

Leave a comment