Changes.

4 Aug

So many things have happened in the last ten months. Firstly and most importantly, I am now officially a graduate of English and Journalism. I can still remember being told by one of the first people who looked out for me here that these three years would fly by. That was the day I arrived, and at the time I didn’t believe her, but now, three years later I totally understand what she was saying.

I was supposed to be moving to China, but unfortunately my plans have changed. It’s probably for the best because I didn’t come very far in learning Mandarin and moving back home has taught me that perhaps I’m not ready to live under a communist regime right now. I have a job (take that, graduate unemployment) and it is amazing to finally have some money coming in – even if I am so busy that it seems to go out just as fast.

I have promised myself that I will start using this blog again, if only as a therapeutic tool to keep my sanity in check. My body is resisting the move from student life to being a 9 – 5er and I’ve decided that this is probably the push I’ll need to motivate myself to read all the books I wanted to read but never had time, to paint my nails all of the colours and also start thinking about preparing myself for that thing that I’ve been putting off forever. The future. If it wasn’t for the money, I would crawl right back into a degree course and be the crazy argumentative mature student that studies anything that I vaguely liked the look of. I digress. I have so many things to look forward to over the next few months, hopefully the following posts won’t be quite as pointless or rambling as this one. If you’re here because you enjoy the long and often angry rants, don’t tune out just yet because I’m sure that when I stop being so tired and melancholic I’ll find something to get riled up about.

So, just to conclude; I’m a graduate, I’m not moving to China but it’s okay because I have a highly important job now AND I am going to read all the books, paint all the nails, visit all of the people, and hopefully have time to tell the internet and its users about all the things I am doing (with the occasional rant about international Marmite politics to break things up.)

“When you’re finished changing, you’re finished”

Benjamin Franklin

Leave a comment