I Should Be Packing…

8 Apr

So, today I am going home for the Easter Break – I was supposed to leave this morning so I’d be home in time for a proper cooked meal, but in true student form I went out last night, drank too much and then couldn’t get out of bed this morning. It’s been so sunny today, and all of the people I live with are pretty much done with education, so I forced myself out for a hangover lunch (at The Font in Leicester, best sandwich I’ve had in a VERY long time – details here; http://www.thefontpub.co.uk/) and have done nothing since I got back, but look at pictures of Bradley Cooper, and get excited about tents and wellies.

The sunshine has made me ridiculously excited for Glastonbury Festival – although I am slightly disappointed with the headline acts I’m hugely excited for the Chemical Brothers and Mumford and Sons (who, I have been told, were amazing last year!). I haven’t been camping in forever, and I’m sure I’ve not done it for more than one night in a row either (for a country girl, I’m pretty pathetic really) but, I’m sure if I can afford a jelly bean tent (available at Tesco) it would make everything wonderful. Right now, I have enough petrol to get home and that is about it really – so I might hold off on the shopping for a while. What I think I will  be doing is working on my “tan”. I use the word casually, as “tan” for me is quite difficult to achieve. I’m either pink or white, which is always a bit rubbish. Hopefully there will be enough sunshine over Easter for me to gradually build up my sun tolerance – so I won’t look quite so pasty when I go.

Going back to Bradley Cooper, I went to see his new film “Limitless” about a week ago. It starts out with such good intentions, but as soon as Robert De Nero is introduced the plot spirals out of focus. Such a shame, because Cooper is amazing in it and although brilliant as ever, De Nero is wasted in his role. Its about a down and out writer in New York who loses his girlfriend and never makes rent. Bumps into his ex brother in law and is given a second chance in the form of a little clear pill, that allows him to harness 100% of his brainpower. It begins so well, and the cinematic techniques used are pretty good and aesthetically speaking the men in the film are quite pleasing – it is just disappointing that suddenly as an audience you’re launched into the stock market and it just doesn’t really make any sense any more.

In other news, my tickets for Alton Towers came through today. I have to wait until the 25th of September to go, but as a reward for getting up and abandoning my journalistic morals by buying the Sun for a fortnight they are free so I can’t complain – its always nice to have plans to get excited for. The other thing I am excited about is waving goodbye to the concrete yard at the back of my uni accommodation and saying hello to the grassy garden in Somerset I never thought I’d miss.

I should probably start packing.

Leave a comment